Day 11: School’s Out!

On the road again! We’re on the train to Marrakech, sitting backwards in a little train booth. There are two huge Moroccan men in the window seats that a technically supposed to be ours, so we’re sitting wherever there is space.

Today was our last day at school, and I am still not over it! I got my class for one last time, and I was really not ready to leave when class ended! The kids didn’t really seem like they wanted to leave either.

In the morning I went over Homonyms with them, and they were surprisingly good with them! I had them write sentences using different homonyms to make sure they got the meaning right, and they were really good! One girl, who is constantly an over achiever wrote a paragraph containing all of the homonyms up on the board, and she was so proud! In the afternoon we found a passage about the UN in a workbook and gave each of them a copy. We had each student read a sentence outloud, and then after each paragraph we went over some of the tougher words and the meaning of the paragraph. It was really awesome! At one point I went to erase the board and one little boy said, “Teacher, no!” because we wanted to write it all down, which I absolutely loved! When they write it down I know that they’re actually interested, which is pretty cool. At the end I got a picture with most of the kids from my class on my camera, and a few of them got pictures with me on their phones. They all thanked me and most of them kissed me on both cheeks to say thanks. It was so sweet! I’m so so sad to leave!

 

l2

It was so incredible to teach them. At first I was absolutely terrified, but now I’ve totally got it figured out and I’ve got a bit of a rhythm going, and I want to stay! As it turns out, Amal Sale (the NGO we were teaching at) is closing for August, so this was the last day anyways, but I wish I could stay for a long time and teach them again. Maybe I can.

20130726-001544.jpg

After school we took the tram back one last time, and walked back to our house to grab our things for Marrakech! We had a little bite to eat, collected our backpacks for the camel trek, and headed to Thaqafat for our exit interview. Fairouz just asked us general questions about the project, a home stay, and the organization in general to get some feedback. I had nothing but good things to say, but suggested that they give their volunteers a bit more guidance on how to teach, because the first day was slightly terrifying. It was so weird to say bye to Fairouz too! Too many goodbyes!

We were quite early for the train, but a little cafe at the station was open for some reason (very rare in Ramadan) so we got some Moroccan mint tea, and then headed down to catch the train! While I was writing this both men sitting at the windows got off at different stops, so now I’m sitting comfortably by the window watching the Moroccan countryside go by. A little bit earlier the train stopped in what seemed like the middle of nowhere for quite a while, seemingly for no reason, until I realized that it was 4:30, and looked outside to see the train conductor praying! It seems so crazy that they would stop the train for prayer, but it is also so normal here.

Three and a half hours to go until we reach Marrakech!

Leave a Reply

